-
Michael became a registered member 2 years, 11 months ago
-
Azure became a registered member 2 years, 11 months ago
-
Forrest Harris replied to the topic Forming Skirmish to Enter Woods in the forum Black Powder 2 years, 11 months ago
Thanks, those are helpful suggestions. On the arid and scruffy Peninsular battlefields where my games take place, I’m wondering if I can’t get around a lot of the awkwardness of woods by treating them simply as rough ground, but with the ability to make targets unclear? That would still bar cavalry and artillery and only the unclear target aspect…[Read more]
-
Big Al replied to the topic Forming Skirmish to Enter Woods in the forum Black Powder 2 years, 11 months ago
<p style=”text-align: right;”>Basically, yes. Changing formation takes a full move, so your unit moves up to the terrain(1st move, then changes formation (2nd move) then enters the terrain (3rd move).</p>
That is per the rules in the main rulebook. -
Mike replied to the topic Forming Skirmish to Enter Woods in the forum Black Powder 2 years, 11 months ago
We don’t like the use of the word “skirmish” since that represents a combined formation and tactical doctrine. We prefer the word open order. We also display the formations differently. For us skirmishing is a more linear formation with supports in the rear. So, we show it that way. Open order is units maintaining the same formation but with…[Read more]
-
John replied to the topic Sept 22 BA FAQ: Clarification Request & Feedback for Game Balance in the forum Bolt Action 2 years, 11 months ago
I’m not seeing where it says you can add stubborn to any unit in Soft Under Belly it only says on pg. 174 you can add it to “Special forces reinforced platoons” and then it list what theater selectors count as special forces reinforced platoons.
-
Forrest Harris started the topic Forming Skirmish to Enter Woods in the forum Black Powder 2 years, 11 months ago
Albion Triumphant gives certain units the ability to “form skirmish in terrain they cannot normally enter.” What’s the best way to apply this? Does the formed unit move to the edge of a wood, for instance, expend one move to change formation and another move to enter the wood? Or do they just disperse into skirmish as they enter? Is entering and…[Read more]
-
Stuart Harrison replied to the topic Spotter and Transports in the forum Bolt Action 2 years, 11 months ago
The errata tells you why they can’t fire the weapons – the spotter rules specifically prohibit a spotter from shooting. ‘Spotters similarly cannot fire weapons and cannot spot while
in the transport (extending to them the rules for HQs, whichcannot use their special rules while transported)’ -
Stuart Harrison replied to the topic Transports that are also tows. Can they do both in the same game? in the forum Bolt Action 2 years, 11 months ago
Yes. It’s covered p117, Vehicles, Transport Vehicles, Towing Guns, third para, end of the sentence ‘…, which will therefore not be able to carry any other troops until the artillery unit unlimbers.’ (first part is about an artillery unit taking all the space).
-
MRenye started the topic Epic Waterloo – Prussian Army List – Jagers in the forum Black Powder 2 years, 11 months ago
Hi all,
I have struggled to figure out the army list for the Prussians in the Epic Waterloo rulebook.
There does not seem to be an entry for Jagers as either Line Infantry, or Skirmishers.
I have inquired on the Facebook group about this and been referred to the 28mm entries from the 100 Days Campaign (sic) lists.
Has this been addressed…[Read more]
-
Mark Prichard started the topic Transports that are also tows. Can they do both in the same game? in the forum Bolt Action 2 years, 11 months ago
Some transporters can also serve as a tow such as trucks and half-tracks. Can a vehicle that has a both a tow characteristic and a transport characteristic perform both functions in the same game but obviously not at the same time. In other words, the truck tows on a artillery unit, the artillery disembarks and later in the game an infantry…[Read more]
-
Mark Prichard replied to the topic Spotter and Transports in the forum Bolt Action 2 years, 11 months ago
I found it in the errata they cannot fire the weapons. I assume that because they are not a “unit” that if in a tow or a transport by themselves (in other words the unit that the spotter is spotting for has disembarked) that they do not change the transport from unmanned to manned.
-
Nat replied to the topic Spotter and Transports in the forum Bolt Action 2 years, 11 months ago
Ok, one question is… Do you mean the Spotter, as in the artillery /mortar unit upgrade? Or are you meaning the Forward Artillery Observer, the HQ unit? – I mention this because I see a lot of people confusing the two game terms with real world terminology and therefore using spotter when talking about the FAO!
However…..
If you mean the a…[Read more] -
Mark Prichard started the topic Spotter and Transports in the forum Bolt Action 2 years, 11 months ago
If the spotter is on a transport or tow and there are no other units or models on the same transport/tow does he keep the transport/tow from being considered unmanned? Can the spotter fire one of the extra weapons?
-
Turntablized became a registered member 2 years, 11 months ago
-
B. became a registered member 2 years, 11 months ago
-
Destrier became a registered member 2 years, 11 months ago
-
Ulwin Beetham became a registered member 2 years, 11 months ago
-
Andy became a registered member 2 years, 11 months ago
-
Albert became a registered member 2 years, 11 months ago
- Load More
