-
Nigel Heather started the topic Metal figures on 25mm lipped plastic bases in the forum Bolt Action 5 years, 6 months ago
Just wondering what you do to disguise the metal base of metal figures. On bigger bases a gradual slope of filler will hide the metal base but on 25mm bases the metal bases come very close to the edge of the plastic base.
Just interested what you do to hide them.
On a related subject, the metal bases on some figures are like two bases stuck on…[Read more]
-
Big Al replied to the topic Rules Question Thread in the forum Black Powder 5 years, 6 months ago
No we don’t. Must Form Square is a charge reaction.
The part that states Tiny units can only keep to Skirmish Order is advisory. It is not part of the game rules, or it would be repeated in the rule fo Forming Square.
However, as you know, BP allows you to make changes and tweak them to suit your play, so you do what you like, really
-
Master Chief replied to the topic Chaplins in the forum Bolt Action 5 years, 6 months ago
There is one here.
I think the model looks nicer if it is holding the bible, so other models will require some customisation.
-
Nat replied to the topic Rules Question Thread in the forum Black Powder 5 years, 6 months ago
So we have 2 conflicting absolutes… on one hand tiny units section says they can only can form march column (but only on roads and tracks… unlike all other units that can form it any where) or their default of skirmish order. Then on the other hand you have the statement that all regular units can form square.
personally I’d take the sp…[Read more]
-
Big Al replied to the topic Rules Question Thread in the forum Black Powder 5 years, 6 months ago
No, it states that they can also form into March Column.
I understand what you are saying, but look at page 89 and the Form Square Rule. Nowhere in the book does it say that a tiny unit cannot Form Square. Page 88 tells you that only regular units can Form Square.
-
Nat replied to the topic Chaplins in the forum Bolt Action 5 years, 6 months ago
The major Chaplin is found in the konflict47 part of the store.
but to re iterate what IO said..any officer should do with proper painting
-
Nat replied to the topic Rules Question Thread in the forum Black Powder 5 years, 6 months ago
Ok got my pdf rule versionon to the iPad!
Sorry the formation is just called skirmish order as stated pg 22 in the v2 pdf. Pg 24 makes it quite clear that tiny units can only be in skirmish order, so they can’t form square.
also in Napoleonic you can have normal and large units in skirmish order…
-
Master Chief replied to the topic Chaplins in the forum Bolt Action 5 years, 6 months ago
There is one here.
-
Big Al replied to the topic Rules Question Thread in the forum Black Powder 5 years, 6 months ago
@Bert – Yes, the Proximity Rule is all important and always applies.
@Nat – I assume we are talking Napoleonic, so yes. All regular infantry has the Must Form Square Rule, even those in Open Order. There isn’t a formation called “skirmisher”. A unit that is skirmishing is a regular small or tiny unit that is operating in Open Order.
-
Nigel Heather started the topic Starter Set – Short of a pilum arm? in the forum SPQR 5 years, 6 months ago
Just started to build my starter set and wonder if my set is short of a pilum arm or whether this is a problem with all sets.
The roman sprues in my box are
Pilum figures (1 sprue)
Gladius figures (1 sprue)
Command figures (2 spues)
The command sprues are identical and have a leader, a standard bearer and a gladius figure.
So fine for the…[Read more]
-
Nat replied to the topic Rules Question Thread in the forum Black Powder 5 years, 6 months ago
Do tiny infantry have must form square? I thought they could only form skirmish formation?
-
Bert replied to the topic Rules Question Thread in the forum Black Powder 5 years, 6 months ago
About first question : even if the unit in proximity was in Square formation (and not a real threat for the Cavalry) the proximity rule needs to be applied ?
Thank’s for theses clarifications.
-
Big Al replied to the topic Rules Question Thread in the forum Black Powder 5 years, 6 months ago
1) If the cavalry is within proximity, it can only move into its front or rear quarter. The rule on page 36 states that it is obliged to move “more or less” straight forward or straight back. So, whether it can charge and which unit it can charge, depends totally on which unit falls within its front quarter. According to your example, it sou…[Read more]
-
John replied to the topic First few games and so many questions! in the forum SPQR 5 years, 6 months ago
really helpful thanks Tim,
I think like many players were in effect creating our own version 1.1, but your thoughts are really useful
-
rckreitz became a registered member 5 years, 6 months ago
-
Greg S replied to the topic Tanks reaction fire in the forum Bolt Action 5 years, 6 months ago
We don’t play it most of the time, because we often forget it. 🙂
-
Bert replied to the topic Rules Question Thread in the forum Black Powder 5 years, 6 months ago
Hi,
After a recent play , i have some questions about charge :
1 – Assume a cavalry unit charged and won the combat. There is an enemy unit on his proximity left, but see another enemy unit farther away on its right. Can it freely rotate right by 45 and charge this enemy unit ?
2- Can a Cavalry unit charge simultaneously the flanks of 2 enemy…[Read more]
-
Nat replied to the topic Tanks reaction fire in the forum Bolt Action 5 years, 6 months ago
just to clarify turrets can rotate unless they’ve suffered a turret jam result then they are locked in to a set arc….although I know not all clubs play the turret jam rules…
-
Stuart Harrison replied to the topic Tanks reaction fire in the forum Bolt Action 5 years, 6 months ago
Yes, the turret can rotate exactly as if the tank received a fire ( or advance) order by any other means.
It’s the general rule that it can and nothing is stated to change it for reaction fire.
-
Nick replied to the topic Tanks reaction fire in the forum Bolt Action 5 years, 6 months ago
Along the reaction fire lines, I would assume (oh oh ) the hull could not pivet to shoot if attacl coming from side or rear. But would the turret get a free rotate in order to fire.
Thanks
- Load More
